Wow, I’m really spoiling myself this week. Guess that’s what happens when your other half gets a job and you have nothing to do but to discover new music. And what discoveries I’ve made! Erykah Badu and Bat for Lashes within two days! Oh how I’ve neglected my music collection for so long. As well as adding friends’ radio players here that I think are inspirational and ripe in new discovery fodder, I think I will also link to music review sites I think worthy – from now on. BTW check out the sound of the berimbau at the end of Erykah Badu’s ‘Kiss Me On My Neck’ (from Mama’s Gun)! I didn’t even notice it until now. Weeeeekeed mate.

From Wikipedia –
“The berimbau is a single-string percussion instrument, a musical bow, from Brazil. The berimbau’s origins are not entirely clear, but there is not much doubt on its African origin, as no Indigenous Brazilian or European people use musical bows, and very similar instruments are played in the southern parts of Africa. The berimbau was eventually incorporated into the practice of the Afro-Brazilian martial art capoeira, where it commands how the capoeiristas move in the roda. The instrument is known for being the subject matter of a popular song by Brazilian guitarist Baden Powell, with lyrics by Vinicius de Moraes. The instrument is also a part of CandomblĂ©-de-caboclo tradition.”

Interested in playing capoeira? Check out KL group Capoeira Bantus.

Leave a Reply

