My books

My shelves

The way you read me

And run on sentences

Conversations that never seem to finish

Finally

The silences after a storm

The long pauses

Before you smother me

In affectionate statements and declarations

Of your commitment to good grammar

And a solid argument.

It’s arguable which one you think of more lovingly

My punctuated state

Or my perfect mistakes

The anxious longing separation

Which brings the most welcome relief reunion

The time I no longer have for myself

The space I no longer have in my head

For anything other than

What you just said.

Leave a Reply

